I forgot my tripod in my wife’s car yesterday. Since my studio tripod does not touch the sand I decided to take a different approach to the evening. Yes, I cranked up the ISO. While the noise is clearly apparent at ISO 3200 and 6400 I’m really impressed by my ability to produce images good enough for the web. At the current pace of technological advances I imagine that in a few years this will hardly be an issue. All images were captured with a Canon 5d Mark II.

This first exposure was 1/10 sec @ f/2.8 ISO 3200. I experimented a bit with Photoshop to achieve the final look and while the hand held image is not sharp enough for a gallery wall, it surely looks fine on the web.

Here is the same image at 100%

1/15 sec @ f/2.8 ISO 3200.

100%

1/6 sec @ f/2.8 ISO 6400!

100%

Lesson learned. No tripod…shoot anyway!