My friend Brian and I took a boat ride out to Point Conception yesterday. While anchored up for lunch I was watching a steady stream of Brandt’s cormorant and California brown pelicans flying by when a Bald Eagle flew right over our boat!!!!! I was blown away by the sighting and it took me a few moments of watching in awe before I decided to get my camera out. I’m sure this is not a rare sighting, this individual is tagged and probably moves back and forth from the islands and the mainland, but it was the first time that I had seen a bald eagle flying over the ocean in Southern California. I took these photographs with a 400mm lens as the bird flew out of sight.

©2009 Erin Feinblatt

In this one the bald eagle is being chased by a Western gull as it passes the moored Mr. Clean III. You can see that the eagle is tagged with a blue wing tag

©2009 Erin Feinblatt

-Erin Feinblatt